0800 612 889510am till 4pm (Mon-Fri)

Teacher Training
Train the Trainer
Assessor Training
Quuality Assurance Courses
Advice and Guidance
Health and Safety
Which A1 Assessing course?

Which Assessing Course?

There are current four different assessor courses. There are the courses which some people refer as TAQA and CAVA. They are the courses that have replaced the old A1 Assessor Award. The assessor course you choose depends on your own requirements and working environment as illustrated below.


different assessor courses qualifications

Level 3 Award in Understanding the Principles and Practices of Assessment

Please note the Level 3 award in understanding the principles and practices of assessment is just a knowledge-based qualification, which does not make you become a qualified assessor. Its however mandatory when completing any of the full assessor qualifications.

Level 3 Award in Assessing Vocationally Related Achievement

This course has two units. Once qualified it gives you the competency to assess any courses that are vocational in nature. The course has to be class or workshop based and will not require the need to assess workplace competence.

Level 3 Award in Assessing Competence in the work environment

This award also has two units and gives you the competency of assessing candidates in the work place. It is not suitable for courses that also require some classroom teaching or testing elsewhere outside the work place.

Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement

This is the course that is equivalent to the old A1. It has three units and gives you competency to assess both in a vocationally related and work place environment. We highly recommend candidates to consider the certificate or complete the two awards above to become an all rounder assessor.